HomePoliticsPDP G5 morphs into “Integrity Group”

PDP G5 morphs into “Integrity Group”

Five governors, G5, elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and some aggrieved party stalwarts, on Sunday, announced the formation of the Integrity Group within the party.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the G5 Governors led by Governor Nyesom Wike of Rivers have been clamouring for the resignation of the PDP National Chairman, Iyorchia Ayu, since the party’s presidential ticket was won by a northerner, Atiku Abubakar.

Atiku defeated Mr Wike and other aspirants to emerge the PDP candidate.

Other governors in the G5 are Samuel Ortom of Benue State, Seyi Makinde of Oyo State, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State and Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia State.

The governors and some aggrieved party leaders were, as of the time of this report, having a strategic meeting in Lagos, which may not be unconnected to the agitation for the removal of Mr Ayu.

Addressing journalists before going into a closed-door meeting, Mr Makinde said the Integrity Group remained the face behind the struggle within the PDP.

Mr Makinde said: “We are here this morning to hold a meeting of the Integrity Group within our party, the PDP. We have been of the G5- that is, the five PDP governors. The G5 is all about the Integrity Group.

“You can see us, five serving governors, as the face of this struggle both the leaders and elders of the party that you see here are the people behind those faces.”

It is not clear why the group chose to meet in Lagos, a South-west state governed by the All Progressives Congress (APC). Lagos is also the base of the APC presidential candidate, Bola Tinubu whom Mr Wike and some of his supporters have fraternised with.

NAN reports that other PDP leaders at the meeting include former governors, Olusegun Mimiko (Ondo State), Ayo Fayose (Ekiti), Donald Duke (Cross River), Jonah Jang (Plateau) and former Deputy National Chairman of the PDP, Bode George.

Also present were former Attorney-General and Minister of Justice, Bello Adoke; Deputy National Chairman South of the PDP, Taofeek Arapaja; Nasif Suleiman, Nnena Ukeje, Sandy Onor and Mao Ohabunwa.

- Advertisement -


Worldwide News, Local News in Nigeria, Tips & Tricks


- Advertisement -

%d bloggers like this: